Wednesday, 25 December 2019

Unit 6: Service Tax


Unit 6: Service Tax

Service tax is a tax levied on services rendered by a person and the responsibility of payment of the tax is cast on the service provider.

It is an indirect tax as it can be recovered from the service receiver by the service provider in course of his business transactions.

Service Tax was introduced in India in 1994 by Chapter V of the Finance Act, 1994.

It was imposed on an initial set of three services in 1994 and the scope of the service tax has since been expanded continuously by subsequent Finance Acts.

The Finance Act extends the levy of service tax to the whole of India, except the State of Jammu & Kashmir.

The Central Board of Excise & Customs (CBEC) under Department of Revenue in the Ministry of Finance deals with the task of formulation of policy concerning levy and collection of Service Tax.

In exercise of the powers conferred, the Central Government makes Service Tax Rules for the purpose of the assessment and collection of service tax.

The Service Tax is being administered by various Central Excise Commissionerates, working under the Central Board of Excise & Customs.

The Service Tax collections have shown a steady rise since its inception in 1994.

The Indian Service Tax law has been ever evolving since its introduction in 1994.

A tax which started with three services now has more than 100 services under its ambit.

In addition, the legislation has also undergone changes with respect to Export of Service Rules and Import of Service Rules, leading to a substantial increase in the legislative provisions.
Appropriatie: To seize.

CENVAT: Central Value Added Tax.

Finance Act: When a bill is passed with a two third majority in Indian Parliament, it is known as Finance Act or Annual Budget.

No comments:

Post a comment